Want to be healthy? Eat my cookie.

IMG_2291

Lately I’ve been on a bit of a health kick. I’ve been drinking green juices, eating quinoa, chia seeds, buckwheat groats, almond milk, taking my vitamins, and exercising…sort of. Yes I’ve been doing this to be healthier but also because I have a mysterious skin condition that started a few years ago. I recently realized that the steroid creams I’m using haven’t been doing any good for my skin or my health. So within the next few weeks I plan to make a change. I’ll be going to a naturopath to see what they think is best for my condition and hopefully I’ll be able to blog about it if I see any changes in my skin and my overall health. Oh, and hopefully I’ll be able to stick to it and not lose it when I see those amazing black forest doughnuts at my favourite doughnut shop!

IMG_2336

But for now I’ll be eating these cookies. Not that I’m saying they’re gross or anything compared to the doughnuts but they’re just in a different category of sweets. Actually, I’m not sure if I would categorize them as sweets. These little healthy cookies only have half a cup of maple syrup in them for a batch of 30 cookies and use coconut oil for the fat. They’re actually very delicious and filled with carrots, oats, flax, pecans, and really won’t make you feel bad for wanting more than one, or two…or five.

IMG_2296

Oh, and can you believe the beautiful butcher block Christoph made for me for Christmas? He got it laser engraved with the blog name! I’ve been sort of too afraid to really use it though because I just don’t want to mess it up!

IMG_2344

Carrot Oatmeal Cookies
Makes about 30 small coconut scented carrot cookies
Adapted slightly from this recipe by Heidi Swanson at 101 Cookbooks

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp of whole wheat flour
1/2 cup of all purpose flour
1/2 tsp of salt
1 cup of oats
1/4 cup of flax meal
1 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup of pecans, chopped
1 1/2 cups of shredded carrots (about 1 1/2 medium carrots)
1/2 cup of good maple syrup, room temperature or warmed slightly
1/2 cup of good quality, fragrant, coconut oil (I used Nutiva brand), warmed until melted
1 tsp of vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375˚F.

Mix the flours, salt, oats, flax meal, and baking powder in a large bowl. Add in the carrots and pecans and stir. In a small bowl, combine the syrup, oil, and vanilla extract. Add this liquid mixture into the dry mix and stir until just combined. The mixture shouldn’t be too sticky. If it is then add a little more flour (about 2 tbsp).

On a parchment lined baking sheet drop tablespoons of the dough and flatten them a little with your fingers. Bake for about 10 minutes or until slightly golden.

These cookies are slightly crispy right out of the oven but will soften up when covered in an airtight container. I like to heat them up for a few minutes in my toaster oven at about 300˚F or just eat them soft with a cup of tea.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Want to be healthy? Eat my cookie.

Leave a Reply

