Cupcakes and a liver cleanse

IMG_2418

Oh cupcakes. Remember when they were the “it” thing? Everyone was opening up a cupcake shop and making a million different flavours. Chocolate cupcakes, red velvet cupcakes, bacon cupcakes…blue cheese cupcakes?! People just went ape shit for cupcakes and now that it’s died down I finally feel like making some cupcakes. No cheese, no weird flavours, and please…no bacon. Just a simple chocolate cupcake with a hint of almond..and oh yeah they’re vegan.

cupcakes3

I know I’m supposed to be eating healthier and all that but these weren’t really for me. I made these especially for a dinner party and bringing a box full of gluten, sugar, dairy, fat, and delicious free cupcakes didn’t sound all that great. At least they’re vegan right? I only ate one…and a half anyway.

IMG_2360

I am actually supposed to be avoiding gluten and dairy right now as I’m on a liver cleanse through the advice of my naturopathic doctor. I’m literally wrapped up in plastic wrap right now with castor oil ¬†and a hot water bottle over my stomach in hopes that it’ll detoxify my liver. I feel like a stuffed sausage..a sweaty stuffed sausage. Now, I have never been to a naturopath before but I sure wasn’t expecting this. I was hoping for something more along the lines of a hypoallergenic diet or something diet based, not having to take 2 tubes of bitter yellow tincture 3 times a day. Oh boy is that stuff disgusting. But these cupcakes aren’t. Go make them, eat them, now!

The recipe for these chocolate almond cupcakes can be found at the lovely Oh She Glows blog by Angela Liddon

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly as written except omitted the almond milk in the icing recipe. This way I had to use less icing sugar to get the right consistency and also I dyed half the icing pink.

Hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cupcakes and a liver cleanse

  1. Those cupcakes look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers

