Easy Ways To Ruin Your Diet

tearolls

I’m trying to be healthy, I really am. Yesterday I had only ONE piece of chocolate, yes just one. One tiny little white chocolate Lindt ball even with my Kinder advent calendar staring at me all day long. I’ve been exercising pretty much daily, eating my fruits and vegetables, and cutting back on dairy and sugar. Yet now I’m blogging about sticky pecan bites…ugh. But how could I not? They’re the cutest, tiniest, most adorable little cinnamon buns ever! Just look at them next to the tea cup. They make me feel like a giant.

The original recipe didn’t call for a glaze of any sort but I decided to make one out of cream cheese because I feel like sweetened cream cheese is one of the best things in the world.

IMG_0938

They seem like fiddly little things to make but are really quite simple. Just the basics of flour, sugar, butter, cream, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. They’re topped with 1 pecan each and the dough comes together in a pinch. No yeast means no waiting, so you can have these little bites in no time.

cinnaminis

Seeing as these can be made in no time at all I’m thinking that maybe I should ditch my health kick for now or at least until the holiday season is over. Because to me it’s really “the most wonderful time of the year” and I don’t want to spoil it with kale chips, protein cookies, and watching my waste line. I can save those for my new years resolution.

I won’t be posting the recipe since I didn’t really change it much from the original.

You can find the recipe for Alice Medrich’s Sticky Pecan Bites from her book Chewy Gooey Crispy Crunchy Melt-In-Your-Mouth Cookies here.

Cream Cheese Icing
Makes about 1/2 cup of icing

4 tbsp cream cheese, softened
2 tbsp butter, softened
about 4 tbsp icing sugar (or to taste)
a little bit of milk if you’re planning on piping the icing

Combine cream cheese, butter, and a few tablespoons of icing sugar. Mix until smooth and add more icing sugar if you’d like it sweeter. Mix in a teaspoon of milk if you want it smoother.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Easy Ways To Ruin Your Diet

  1. Chelle says:

    ive been seeing so any cinnamon buns recipes lately and these are making me crave for one badly. urs are so petite and cute! oh and i love that shot where u took of the ingredients laid out so nicely. :)

  2. Thanks for your kind comments Chelle!

  3. amy says:

    i’m totally with you on the cream cheese frosting. did you notice how thick i slathered it on the christmas pumpkin cake??? yum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers

